About Tomcat session cluster

Servlet session on Tomcat is managed by “Tomcat manager”. There are 3 kinds of session manager.

  1. Default manager (StandardManager)
  2. Delta manager
  3. Backup manager

Default manager (StandardManager) is non clustered session manager. That is, sessions are not shared between Tomcat instances. Without specific setting, default manager is used when we use servlet session api.

Delta manager and backup manager are clustered session manager.

Delta manager

  • Implemented with org.apache.catalina.ha.session.DeltaManager
  • All session data is shared among Tomcat instances

Backup manager

  • Implemented with org.apache.catalina.ha.session.BackupManager
  • Each session is composed of primary, backup, proxys
  • If a session is created on a instance, another one instance is chosen as backup node. And all other nodes are proxy nodes
  • Therefore, only one instance’s failure is allowed
  • Each session has different primary, backup, proxy nodes
  • Less communication cost than delta manager




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.